March Madness = A NEW way of Doing Business and Getting Work is on it’s way

What’s clear from years of personally hiring people to firing people to looking for work back in the late ’90’s and presently, the system is broken.

Not only broken, but hopeless judging by the world’s convoluted and process of torture equivalent in my opinion to past medieval days of Dungeon Torture.

If ever there was a connection between those 2 disconnected and distant points, it would have to be the way people are treated both as employer and employee,

The recent process of requiring people to fill in their life’s work into a ‘FORM’ for computerized assimilation and forever storage without so much as a hiccup from a real person to acknowledge it is in my opinion unconscionable.

True some companies have hundreds or even maybe thousands of applications and how to deal with that problem. Well it’s called a Human Resource department for a reason.

Based on criteria these HR departments are the gatekeepers of what business want. Need is established higher up the hierarchy based on business models and conditions.

Marching orders to find probable candidates comes from HR resources especially within multi-nationals, national organizations and Governments.

When it comes to Mid-size, it’s a toss up depending on many factors, but certainly the determining factor is who’s in charge and what are their most pressing needs. Qualifications or an immediate need to fill a link in a chain of work that needs to be accomplished.

Filling a hole is the easy part. Qualifications search for the best person much harder. Yet it comes down in many instances to industry reputation and results oriented candidates. I don’t really care how qualified you are personally, but if you tell me you can get the job done, bingo – you’re at the head of the list. Qualifications tells me very little in certain terms of how to reconcile business models to actual facts.

In many instances for the majority of hires, whomever is hired isn’t the perfect candidate anyways. Who’s perfect??? So a new hire will have some but not all of the needed abilities to get what needs to be done with a learning curve ahead.

The whole process of looking for identifying a need, to requesting, then searching, waiting for responses, sorting responses, setting up interviews and going through the final selection process between the best available ‘choices’ at any specific point in time is labor intensive and costly with no guarantee that the right choice was made or that the candidate will work out.

With that said there are many models out there for people looking for work. In fact maybe too many to tackle mentioning right now,

Those models that I have personally worked with all have their pluses and minuses just like all work and business people out there to work for.

One thing’s for certain – the old adage if it ain’t broke don’t fix it, well you can bet your asses doesn’t apply to what’s going on now globally with people looking for work.

I’m reminded at this stage of my full time work last summer working for CMC Stairs in Calgary. Loved the job, finally learning how to build stairs and install super fancy high end ones in multi million dollar homes from scratch. Guess no one figured I had what it took. Stamina, drive, measurement skills, table saw abilities and most of all NOT doing drugs with hired employees and their scheming little ways of trying to not only goad me into joining their little posse. Only to find myself on the brunt end of a co-ordinated attack to get me to quit. Although I really enjoyed the learning, the shop foreman Mr. CalgaryKen – I don’t give a shit really tried his best to do me in without success. I kept my eye on the Ball and I truly enjoyed the challenge of not letting things get to me. In the end the boss was faced with terminating me when confronted with a choice of lossing Ms. PMS hot flash Journeywomen or me the new hire. Blackmail at it’s finest and typically what I would have expected in this case since any attempt to get me hurt on the job physically through the table saw or other workplace injury didn’t work. I’m just too safety conscious for that as on record since other people got hurt, but I didn’t.

I was well aware of the games being played, but I enjoyed my work so much there was really no need to quit. Besides I had my eye on possibly working as a contractor for CMC Stairs had they been interested in my doing installations on jobsties. Only under written contract would I have agreed since that would have required significant capital expenditures and investments.

Alas this is just one example of the workplace poisons that burns employers and good workers. Not only that but it turns good workers into snakes themselves in the long run. So you are left with a diminishing available pool of workers to do work but no good fits.

I’ll leave it at that for now. Long winded story to say, enough is enough. Time to change and turn things around and the best place will be at ground level where I’m starting off. While these new paradigms will be disruptors(new verb meaning), I don’t expect them to be any worst than the current social malaise experienced by the majority of society now.

This has long been overdue since the Government of Canada changed the Un-Employement Insurance terms to Employment Insurance moniker back in the ’80’s. With all the Work Fare program changes due to these upper level disruptors, seeking work has never been harder than it is today for whatever reasons, which again are too long to list.

I won’t be able to change the ‘WHOLE’ system in a month, but it’ll be just enough to tip it over the edge to get the Ball Rolling. You can be guaranteed that these new shortcuts will put pressure on both employers and seekers alike. It’ll be a mutual committment to get what both need in the shortest time possible. That’s efficiency and effectiveness to Conserve both of them Time, MONEY & NRGY.

Truthfully, there will be an Ouch factor. So get the band-aids ready for those who don’t like a little bit of pain.

BTW – this has been on my 2 DO LIST forever, just about time I got to it. Welcome to my World of Dance of Life & NRGY !

Leave a comment